Giants unveil “Century Red” commemorative 100th season uniform

A closer look at the uniform:

Divided by a thick blue stripe beneath white numbers, the “Century Red” jersey has its roots in 1933, an important year not just for the Giants, but for the entire league. This season culminated with the first-ever NFL Championship Game, played between the Giants and Bears at Wrigley Field in Chicago. While they lost that game, the Giants got revenge against the Bears a year later in the 1934 NFL Championship Game, forever remembered as “The Sneakers Game.” The font used for the jersey numbers is in the unique style of the original 1933 jersey.

The tan pants, paired with red and blue striped socks, are a throwback to the original pants worn during the inaugural season in 1925, when founder Tim Mara famously purchased the team for $500.

The pants were worn in their third season of existence when the Giants won their first NFL championship, capping one of the most dominant seasons of their football century. The 1927 Giants allowed just 20 points in 13 games, a franchise record that will stand forever.

Last but not least, the winged helmet was used from 1937 to 1947, including the Giants' 1938 championship season. During this time, Steve Owen, the winningest head coach in Giants history, was credited with innovations such as the A-formation offense, the umbrella defense, and the two-platoon system.

“100 Seasons” commemorative patch.

The “Century Red” jersey will feature the special “100 Seasons” patch.

The patch is a story in itself.

The commemorative logo was created to showcase the franchise's rich history. The background sign is inspired by the shape of the Polo Grounds, the team's first home stadium in 1925, and the zeros are designed in the outline of Giants Stadium. At the base is a replica of the team's classic skyline logo, representing every player who has worn the Giants jersey. The player is depicted on a football named “The Duke” in honor of Wellington Mara, which features eight laces symbolizing the team's eight NFL championships.

Anna Harden

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *