Arizona baseball's Chip Hale is named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Arizona Wildcats head baseball coach Chip Hale was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year on Tuesday. The skipper led the Wildcats to a 33-20 overall record (20-10 in Pac-12) and Arizona's first regular-season conference championship since 2021.

With this award, Hale made history by becoming the first person in Pac-12 baseball history to win both Coach of the Year and Player of the Year. Hale was the Pac-10 South Player of the Year in 1987, while then-UCLA player and current Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo was the Pac-10 Player of the Year.

Hale is in his third season as coach for his alma mater. He previously managed the Diamondbacks from 2015 to 2016 and coached five major league clubs.

Hale wasn't the only member of the Wildcats or rival Arizona State Sun Devils to receive the Pac-12 honor announced Tuesday.

Brandon Compton of Arizona State is named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year

Compton was initially recruited as a pitcher after graduating high school, but had to miss his freshman year due to Tommy John surgery. The injury forced him to work on his swing in his first year with the team, the numbers speak for themselves.

Compton leads all Pac-12 freshmen in home runs (14), doubles (16), average (.363), slugging (.681), on-base percentage (.431) and RBIs (50).

With two outs this season, he was ASU's best hitter, posting a .467 average in that scenario. Notable moments included a grand slam in a series finale against Ohio State in February, a game-winning RBI single in the eighth inning over Oregon that ended in a walk-off win on March 8, and a two-run go-ahead homer against Utah Valley on March 19.

Isaiah Jackson is named to the Pac-12 Baseball All-Defensive Team

The standout outfielder has been a solid defensive player since joining the Sun Devils.

Against USC on April 28, Jackson tied with Hunter Bishop (2019) for the second-most putouts in center field with eight, shy of Joe Lampe's record of nine in 2021. He made a diving catch over the right field wall and robbed the Bruins of a home run with three runs.

The play garnered so much attention that it earned the No. 1 spot on SportsCenter's Top 10 Plays.

2024 Pac-12 Baseball All-Conference Teams

Arizona Wildcats

Clark Candiotti, RHP, Sr.

Brendan Summerhill, OF, Soph.

Cam Walty, RHP, Sr.

Mason White, INF. Soph.

Jackson Kent, LHP, Soph.

Garen Caulfield, INF. Jr.


Emilio Corona, OF, Jr.

Casey Hintz, RHP/INF, Ms.

Arizona State Sun Devils

Jacob Tobias, 1B, Jr.

Kien Vu, OF, Soph.

Nick McLain, OF, RS Soph.

Brandon Compton, DH, RS Fr.

Ryan Campos, C, Jr.


Ben Jacobs, OF, Soph.

Connor Markl, LHP, Sr

Pac-12 tournament standings

The final Pac-12 baseball tournament will take place at Scottsdale Stadium.

Top-seeded Arizona's first game is against Washington on Wednesday at 7 p.m.

ASU lost its opening game of the tournament to Stanford 8-7 on Tuesday and plays again against Oregon State on Thursday.

Anna Harden

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *