There are runoff elections in Texas today. Who is on the ballot for North Texas?

The Texas primary runoffs will take place on Tuesday, giving voters one last chance to choose the Republican and Democratic candidates who will be on the ballot in November.

The polling stations are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voters who cast their ballots in the March 5 primary must vote for the same party in the runoff. All other registered voters can choose between the Democratic or Republican elections – provided they live in an area where a candidate did not receive a majority of the vote in the March primary and a runoff was therefore necessary.

Dallas County Democrats will have to choose between Sheriff Marion Brown and Lupe Valdez. Valdez served as sheriff from 2005 until she resigned in 2017 for an unsuccessful run for governor and endorsed Brown as her successor.

Other races in North Texas include five Republican races for the Texas House of Representatives, two GOP races for the U.S. House of Representatives, and the election of a candidate from either party for a seat in the state Senate:

33rd District of the Texas House of Representatives: Republican Rep. Justin Holland of Rockwall is running against Katrina Pierson, Donald Trump's former national spokeswoman in the 2016 presidential election. Pierson led Holland 39.5% to 38.7% in the March primary.

Republican runoff election for Texas House of Representatives: Incumbent Justin Holland faces Katrina Pierson

61st District of the Texas House of Representatives: In Collin County, which includes parts of McKinney and Frisco, Republican Rep. Frederick Frazier of McKinney is seeking a second term against Keresa Richardson. Frazier, who is backed by Gov. Greg Abbott, received 32% of the vote in the primary, while Richardson, who is backed by Attorney General Ken Paxton, received 40%.

64th District of the Texas House of Representatives: After narrowly defeating challenger Andy Hopper in the 2022 Republican primary, Republican Rep. Lynn Stucky of Denton finished second in March by 3 percentage points. Hopper was endorsed by U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz and Paxton, while Abbott endorsed Stucky.

91st District of the Texas House of Representatives: Another 2022 rematch pits Republican Rep. Stephanie Klick of Fort Worth against David Lowe. Klick, chair of the Public Health Committee, has been endorsed by Abbott, and Lowe has Paxton's support. Klick received 48% of the vote in March to 46% for Lowe.

Texas House of Representatives, District 97: In the vacant Tarrant County district, Cheryl Bean and John McQueeney are competing against each other, with candidates sharing the support of the state's top Republican politicians. Bean, who received 49% of the vote in March, is backed by Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick and Paxton. McQueeney, who received 30% of the vote, is backed by Abbott and House Speaker Dade Phelan.

Republicans argue over who is a real conservative in the Fort Worth-area congressional runoff election

Diane Symons and Carlos Walker are running in the Democratic runoff in the Republican-dominated district. Symons was ahead of Walker in March with 44% to 35%.

Congressional District 12: In the race to replace longtime U.S. Rep. Kay Granger, Rep. Craig Goldman is running against real estate developer John O'Shea. Goldman is backed by Abbott, Patrick, Granger and former Gov. Rick Perry. O'Shea is backed by Paxton and national “America First” figures like Roger Stone.

Congressional District 32: The Republican runoff for this predominantly Democratic district, which includes northeast Dallas, pits former Dallas City Councilman David Blewett against businessman and journalist Darrell Day. The winner will face state Rep. Julie Johnson (D-Farmers Branch) in the November election. The seat is currently held by U.S. Rep. Colin Allred (D-Dallas), who is running for U.S. Senate.

Texas Senate District 30: Senator Drew Springer (R-Muenster) is not seeking re-election, and runoff elections will determine each party's nominee for November. In the Republican race, Brent Hagenbuch – backed by Abbott, Patrick, Trump and Springer – is running against Jace Yarbrough, who is running a grassroots campaign for a district that spans 11 counties and includes parts of Frisco and Denton.

Democrats must choose between hair salon owner and pastor Michael Braxton of Denison and Dale Fray, a web developer and federal contractor.

Speaker of the House of Representatives Dade Phelan: A key race outside North Texas pits Phelan, who led the Texas House of Representatives for the past two legislative sessions, against David Covey, the former chairman of the Orange County Republican Party. Phelan is backed by Perry and business-focused Republicans, while Covey is backed by Trump, Patrick and Paxton, who have challenged Phelan's conservative credentials. Abbott has not declared his intention to run.

Anna Harden

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *